My hair is getting thinner! What should I do?

Q: I’ve started to lose my hair, what are my options? What do you think I should do?

A: Well, I hate to disappoint you, but, even despite all of the technology we have in 2010, there still appears to be no ‘cure’ for losing your hair. I like to think of going bald as more highly evolved, but that’s just because I too suffer from the same affliction. There are also very few acceptable choices when dealing with losing your hair.

First, there are hair implants. If you get them, no matter where you are, no matter what you do, you will forever be known as the guy who got implants. People know it’s not your hair and eventually, it becomes a very costly embarrassment. Really. There is a definite stigma attached to those who get implants. The usual result, most people don’t look at you as more handsome, they tend to see guys who get implants as ‘sad’ and I’ve even heard the word ‘pathetic’ from some female friends. Don’t waste your money and save your shame. The only time this might be acceptable is if you are planning on relocating to another city or country and if you have the money, I say go for it. You can start a new life with a new head of hair.

Secondly, there is a temporary totally aesthetic way to do it without taking pills or going under the knife. If your is in the early processes of thinning, go to a hair salon and get natural looking highlights in your hair, the darker your hair, the more contrast there is against your scalp. If you lighten your hair a little, it gives the impression that your hair isn’t as thin as it actually is.

Third, we have the topical treatments that you put on your head. Sorry they don’t work and if they do work, they grow so little that no one can even tell. Don’t do it! Don’t waste your money!

Fourth, toupees and wigs……BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA ’nuff said.

Fifth, the ever so lovely comb-over. It’s so chic, so avant-Gard ! No seriously, come on! Are you kidding? Why do men think that this is acceptable, stop clinging to what little hair you have.

Sixth, growing it out longer on top. It doesn’t work, it still looks thin, only now you have a ridiculous head of thin long hair. You look ridiculous, stop it!

Seventh and finally, the only real acceptable option. After a lot of thinking and humming and hawwing, I did it. I went out, bought hair clippers and set them on the closest setting and removed all of my hair. While my hair was thinning, I still had a fair amount of it but I knew it was just a matter of time. Don’t save the hair on the sides and the back, just clip it at the closest setting and then shave it if you like. I don’t have time to shave it as much as I would like, so I clip it every few days as my hair grows back VERY quickly. Since I did this, I have been told that I actually look five years younger. You see, we think of hair as something that makes us look younger. But, if you’re losing it, it actually makes you look ten years older than you are. Just take the leap! If you haven’t been getting many dates because your hair is thinning, shaving it is almost an immediate way to get dates and to boost your confidence as well. I am far more confident with a shaved or buzzed head than I was with my thinning hair. If you want to do it slowly, go and ask a salon to buzz it all to an inch or less and gradually get closer and closer.

If you want your confidence back, if you want to stop the shame and embarrassment, just shave your heads guys. I think every woman would agree. Think about Bruce Willis, he was thinning and after he shaved his head, women all over the world couldn’t stop saying how much sexier he is. If you’re a gay man, all the more reason to do it. Gay guys love bald heads!! May the force be with you! Empower yourselves, just take a deep breath and go cue ball!

Take the poll, if you’re a guy, choose which one you prefer. Ladies, choose which one you think is sexiest.

4 thoughts on “My hair is getting thinner! What should I do?

    1. Thanks, Mischa! I appreciate that. I’ve been very busy the last few days I hadn’t had time to update. Your comment inspired me to do so. Take care 🙂

      Like

  1. My answers…
    1. Prayer (We still want to spiritual intervention)
    2. Avoid/Minimize stress related work
    3. Exercise (Be active)
    4. Vitamins, and more vitamins…
    5. Enough sleep (I hope you still can find the time)
    6. Avoid/Minimize nightlife (you can skip this LOL)
    7. Self-discipline, repeat the previous steps….

    Like

Leave a Reply

